Davey O’Brien Watch List

Here’s the announcement from the Davey O’Brien Award people naming the Watch List quarterbacks, including USC’s John David Booty, for their award to the nation’s top college quarterback. See how many you’ve heard of.

FORT WORTH, Texas (August 21, 2007) – The 2007 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) Watch List features 35 of college football’s most talked about quarterbacks. The O’Brien is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field.

Erik Ainge, Tennessee, SR

John David Booty, USC, SR

Colt Brennan, Hawai’i’, SR

Brian Brohm, Louisville, SR

Shaun Carney, Air Force, SR

Rudy Carpenter, Arizona State, JR

Chase Clement, Rice, JR

Chase Daniel, Missouri, JR

Nate Davis, Ball State, SO

Dennis Dixon, Oregon, SR

Julian Edelman, Kent State, JR

Caleb Hanie, Colorado State, SR

Martin Hankins, Memphis, SR

Graham Harrell, Texas Tech, JR

Omar Haugabook, Troy, SR

Chad Henne, Michigan, SR

Rocky Hinds, UNLV, JR

Chase Holbrook, New Mexico State, JR

Brian Johnson, Utah, JR

Kinsmon Lancaster, UL-Monroe, JR

Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan, SO

Corey Leonard, Arkansas State, SO

Nate Longshore, California, JR

Colt McCoy, Texas, SO

Anthony Morelli, Penn State, SR

Curtis Painter, Purdue, JR

Matt Ryan, Boston College, SR

Jameel Sewell, Virginia, SO

Riley Skinner, Wake Forest, SO

Paul Smith, Tulsa, SR

Matthew Stafford, Georgia, SO

Karsten Sweet, Wyoming, SO

Pat White, West Virginia, JR

Justin Willis, SMU, SO

Andre Woodson, Kentucky, SR

The Watch List is based on All-America teams and Honorable Mentions published at least six different preseason college football magazines. A candidate must be listed as an All-America quarterback or as a 1st or 2nd team All-American within his conference in at least one publication, or as Honorable Mention in at least three publications.

The O’Brien requires Selection Committee members to consider the character and leadership qualities of each candidate, in addition to athletic prowess when voting.

“Along with athletic ability, The O’Brien winner must exhibit the same character and moral fiber that Davey O’Brien displayed throughout his life,” Davey O’Brien Foundation executive director Danielle Moorman said. “We challenge Watch List candidates to live up to this fundamental aspect of our award while leading their teams into competition.”

The winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN Dec. 6, 2007. The recipient will be honored Feb. 18, 2008, at the annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

About The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) honors the nation’s best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O’Brien helps to instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation provides scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit http://www.DaveyOBrien.com.

Kyle Bunch

Partnerships for R/GA Ventures. Raised in California, adopted by Texas. Opinions expressed here are mine and they are fantastic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s