Two Pac-10 DBs are Thorpe semifinalists

Posted by’s Ted Miller

Two Pac-10 defensive backs — USC safety Taylor Mays and UCLA cornerback Alterraun Verner — are among the 12 semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award, which is given annually to the nation’s best defensive back.

UCLA safety Rahim Moore also was among five players who earned honorable mention.

This list will be narrowed Nov. 23 to three finalists who will be invited to the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10. The winner will be announced on the show and the official presentation will be at a formal banquet in Oklahoma City on Feb. 9, 2010.

The semifinalists are:

Javier Arenas, Sr., Alabama

Eric Berry, Jr., Tennessee

Barry Church, Sr., Toledo

Perrish Cox, Sr., Oklahoma State

Joe Haden, Jr., Florida

Brandon Harris, So., Miami (FL)

Taylor Mays, Sr., USC

Tyler Sash, So., Iowa

Darrell Stuckey, Sr., Kansas

Earl Thomas, So., Texas

Alterraun Verner, Sr., UCLA

Kyle Wilson, Sr., Boise State

Kyle Bunch

Partnerships for R/GA Ventures. Raised in California, adopted by Texas. Opinions expressed here are mine and they are fantastic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s