Sunday night’s New York Mets 50th Anniversary event included a little bit of everything: a teary-eyed and loquacious Tom Seaver; a 6’5” (and still confident) Darryl Strawberry; wonderful stories about Tug McGraw and Gil Hodges; and 900+ Mets fans, who made 92Y feel like a night at the ballpark. The highlight of the night was the announcement of the Mets All-Time Greatest Team:

C: Mike Piazza
1B: Keith Hernandez
2B: Edgardo Alfonzo
SS: Jose Reyes
3B: David Wright
LF: Cleon Jones
CF: Carlos Beltran
RF: Darryl Strawberry
RHP: Tom Seaver
LHP: Jerry Koosman
LHRP: Tug McGraw
RHRP: Roger McDowell
Manager: Davey Johnson

Mike “Unicorn Tattoo” Piazza over Gary Carter? You’re kidding, right?

Kyle Bunch

Managing Director, Social at R/GA. Co-founder of Blogs with Balls and future owner of the MLB's Austin Bats.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s